The top 10 athletes of 2018 so far
 1  Emmanuel Korir                  KEN  1.44.21i  New York
 2  Jonathan Kitilit                KEN  1.44.64   Nairobi
 3  Wycliffe Kinyamal               KEN  1.44.72   Nairobi
 4  Cornelius Tuwei                 KEN  1.44.91   Nairobi
 5  Donavan Brazier                 USA  1.45.10i  Albuquerque
 6  Michael Saruni                  KEN  1.45.15i  College Station
 7  Alvaro De Arriba                ESP  1.45.43i  Salamanca
 8  Elliot Giles                    GBR  1.45.46i  Birmingham
 9  Drew Windle                     USA  1.45.52i  Birmingham
10  Joseph Deng                     AUS  1.45.71   Gold Coast

Adam Kszczot takes yet another title!

And another one! After a streak of indoor victories this season Adam Kszczot was the clear favourite before the race. When no one wanted to take the lead during the first two laps (just 55.77 at 400 m) they played right into the hands of the quick Pole. With two devastating finishing laps (the last one in 25.06!) he proved once again that he is next to unbeatable in any sort of tactical race.

Kszczot has now collected an amazing array of medals: twice he took silver at the outdoor WC. Two golds and a bronze at the outdoor EC. Three European indoor titles, and now a World Indoor Gold to go with his silver from 2014 and his bronze from way back in 2010.

After the finish there was a bit of controversy since Drew Windle was initially disqualified for pushing. At the indoor 800 m, with its tight bends and high pace a bit of contact is almost unavoidable, so reasonably enough he was reinstated again.

 1  Adam Kszczot           POL   1:47.47
 2  Drew Windle            USA   1:47.99
 3  Saul Ordóñez           ESP   1:48.01
 4  Elliot Giles           GBR   1:48.22
 5  Álvaro de Arriba       ESP   1:48.51
 6  Mostafa Smaili         MAR   1:48.75
Adam Kszczot sprints past the field
Full speed ahead! Adam Kszczot sprints past the field to take the lead. He would never look back and convincingly score his first World Indoor Title.

Terrific Indoor run by Emmanuel Korir

Emmanuel Korir may be the brightest talent at 800 m currently, and he gave yet another demonstration of his abilities. During the Millrose Games at New York he outpaced Donavan Brazier with a final lap in just over 26 seconds and finished in a sensational time of 1:44.21, the fastest indoor time for 18 years.

Korir's time means he is now third fastest on the all time indoor list. Only the legendary Wilson Kipketer and Yuriy Borzakovskiy have ever run faster. Korir also set a new African record, improving the previous record pf 1:44.52 which was held by Mohamed Aman since 2014.

Behind Korir American runners Brazier an Drew Windle set PB's as well. They are now ranked as number two and three on the US all time indoor list, with just Johnny Gray's long standing (1992!) 1:45.00 ahead of them.

 1  Emmanuel Korir         KEN   1:44.21
 2  Donavan Brazier        USA   1:45.35
 3  Drew Windle            USA   1:45.53
 4  Kyle Langford          GBR   1:46.43
 5  Clayton Murphy         USA   1:46.61
 6  Jesse Garn             USA   1:47.58
 7  Sho Kawamoto           JPN   1:47.78
 8  Wesley Vázquez         PUR   1:47.80
 9  Casimir Loxsom         USA   1:50.54
Brazier and Korir heading the field
The best is yet to come. Although Emmanuel Korir was trailing Donavan Brazier for most of the race he would run a blazing final lap. At the finish Korir would be leading by well over a second.

Nijel Amos wins the Diamond League final

The Diamond League had a different setup this season. No longer was the athlete who had collected most points declared the winner. Instead the model was much simpler: gather points to qualify for the final, then simply win the final.

Kipyegon Bett and Nijel Amos looked like the favorites, although Adam Kszczot with his sprint finish could not be discounted. The pace was fast - below 50 seconds for the first lap. Amos took the lead, and the Kenyan contingent could only follow. Disappointingly none of them could finish in the top three.

Instead the challenge came from Poland. Kszczot came from behind and came real close - but he was unable to get past Amos. What he didn't see was that his compatriot Marcin Lewandowski was finishing strongly as well. Kszczot looked left, saw no-one coming and eased up. Lewandowski went right and sneaked past on the line, running a seasons best in the process.

But Nijel Amos stayed out of reach. And although his World Championship campaign ended in disappointment this win shows he is still the man to beat.

 1  Nijel Amos             BOT  1:44.53 
 2  Marcin Lewandowski     POL  1:44.77 
 3  Adam Kszczot           POL  1:44.84 
 4  Kipyegon Bett          KEN  1:45.21
 5  Ferguson Cheruiyot     KEN  1:45.25 
 6  Alfred Kipketer        KEN  1:46.27 
 7  Elliot Giles           GBR  1:47.03 
 8  Asbel Kiprop           KEN  1:49.85
Nijel Amos celebrates his Diamond victory
That will be $ 50,000! Nijel Amos celebrates his win of the Diamond Race and shows himself well aware of the prize money. This season first prize went automatically to the winner of the final race.

Pierre-Ambroise Bosse is the new World Champion

The 800m has a new World Champion in Pierre-Ambroise Bosse. His story of the season is one of the more unlikely ones for any champion.

His participation wasn't at all sure to begin with. Injuries had meant he had hardly run any races. He had to prove himself in the Monaco race, which he duly did. Although he only finished fifth, his time was good enough. So Bosse at least was allowed to run in London.

His heat didn't present too many problems, but he had a hard time in the semifinal. Two races in two days proved to be tough for someone who hasn't run much. Bosse finished third, where a top two finish was needed. Luckily he did so in the fastest semi, and so he still qualified for the final.

In that final he was anything but favorite. Amos had run well all season. Bett had won that fastest semifinal. Kszczot is renowned for his sprint finish. Bosse had never won a major medal before, his expectations couldn't have been high.

It didn't matter. Halfway through the second lap the Frenchman decided to take the lead and simply run flat out to the finish. Bett, Amos and Aman could only trail in his wake. Kszczot came close, but not close enough. And so Bosse crossed the finish as World Champion. "Me, really?" he seemed to ask himself. Yes, you. An unlikely story indeed.

 1. Pierre-Ambroise Bosse  FRA  1:44.67
 2. Adam Kszczot           POL  1:44.95
 3. Kipyegon Bett          KEN  1:45.21
 4. Kyle Langford          GBR  1:45.25
 5. Nijel Amos             BOT  1:45.83
 6. Mohammed Aman          ETH  1:46.06
 7. Thiago Andrè           BRA  1:46.30
 8. Brandon McBride        CAN  1:47.09
Bosse is the new World Champion
A happy man. Pierre-Ambroise Bosse is celebrating his world title. Earlier in the season an injury had made it seem unlikely he would even participate.